Grilled Hanger Steak

Recently I got the Momofuku cookbook by David Chan and I love it!  Someday I hope to visit his restaurants, as I’m sure they would be amazing, I love the way he writes in the book as it gives you and idea of what his personality would be like.  I was his recipe: Grilled Hanger Steak and it sparked an idea, it reminded me of the steak my friend eats, she eats it very thinly sliced with sticky rice.  This recipe is inspired by the Momofuku cookbook and while you could say it’s adapted, it is more inspired by the dumpling sauce my mom makes.  It is marinated for an hour to and hour and a  half and then grilled briefly but not too long to prevent it from becoming overdone.  While I had never heard of hanger steak I found it was similar to strip steak and it was really tender!

Ingredients

1 lbs hanger steak

2/3 cup gluten-free tamari

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1/2 teaspoon rice vinegar

1/4 red pepper flakes

1/2 grated fresh ginger

1 clove minced garlic

Black Pepper (to taste)

Mix the tamari, sesame oil, rice vinegar, red pepper flakes, ginger, garlic and pepper together in a flat shallow container.

Marinate the steaks for 2 hours.

Grill the steaks until tender.

Serve with white rice

Leave a Reply

